Exploring Your Options with GCSE Courses

Guest Author
In UK, GCSE courses are taken by children between ages 14 to 16. GCSE stands for General Certificate of Secondary Education. It is a standard qualification which is highly valued by different schools, colleges, and even employers. The courses offered by this program may determine your academic future as you are given an option to study using a new approach. You have the option to explore your study options with GCSE courses by studying full time at a school by completing five terms, and now, you can also choose to have GCSEs for levels 1 and 2 based on the framework for national qualifications. This framework determines how different qualifications matches the demands required from learners.

GCSE Courses

The Options

There are different types of GCSEs available right now. You can choose from over 40 academic as well as 9 applied subjects. The latter refers to the subjects which relates to a broader area of a profession. For example, you can take up tourism or engineering depending on the type of career that you want to pursue. There are also a lot of short GCSE courses available, and they can be taken in about half the total duration of a full course. Many students choose to partner a short term course along with extra subjects.

Read More: Applying to work in the UK from outside the EEA

What You Need to Know

When selecting GCSE courses, you can depend on the guidance coming from your college or school regarding the subjects that are available for you. Thus, you can start with doing a little research in order to find out the qualifications and courses that are available in your location. It is also vital to understand that while you are pursuing these courses, you are required to study more subjects included in the national curriculum.

Read More: ACI - The Financial Markets Association

The Next Step

Now that you have finally decided which subjects you want to enrol in, you can already start with your regular classes by following the curriculum course. Then, you will be required to undergo an assessment which is composed mainly of written exams. If you enrolled in applied subjects like design and art, more assessment on the coursework should be expected.

The Exams

GCSE courses usually involve exams after the course. For some subjects, there are single level exams. Other subjects may have two levels. It is the teacher which usually decides which type of exams fit you more; however, it can be expected that there is a different grade range for each tier.

Read More: Lansdowne Digital Hero Launches New Website

The Grading System

You may be receiving grades from A-G, as well as U (unclassified). Grades A-D are usually acquired after completing higher tier exams, while C-G grades may be obtained after foundation tier exams. After completing the exams, doors of different opportunities will be opened for you. You can now choose to study more, work or look for an apprenticeship/internship. For example, if you aim to achieve work in higher education as well as universities, you need to take courses on certain subjects, and it is important that you have five grades with A-C, including Math and English.

Post a Comment


Thank you..!

Post a Comment (0)